Compensation Committee


One of the largest retail co-operatives in North America, Calgary Co-op has over 460,000 members and over 4,000 team members.

To ensure continued growth and success in a highly competitive market, strong governance from strategic thinking, visionary directors is essential. Calgary Co-op trusts the board to provide sound and knowledgeable advice on future direction, while preserving the ideals of a co-operative.

Director remuneration rates have not changed at Calgary Co-op since 2010. As such, a review of directors’ compensation will be conducted this year. This survey will review factors influencing board of directors’ compensation, various approaches to board compensation, and comparative information on corporate and co-operative boards. 

To undertake this review, an ad-hoc compensation committee will be created. This committee will include three voting member-owners, one non-voting director and a compensation consultant. This committee will present a board compensation proposal to member-owners at the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Member-owners sitting on this committee should:

  1. have experience in one or more of the following areas: executive compensation, employee benefits, and human resources;
  2. understand the roles and responsibilities of directors sitting on boards of comparable size dealing with comparable issues encountered by Calgary Co-op directors; and
  3. be available to attend five committee meetings lasting from two to five hours between September 13, 2016 – April 17, 2017.

Former Calgary Co-op employees, current employees and former directors are ineligible.

Member-owners will be paid the standard committee remuneration rate - $1,500.

If you are interested in becoming a member of this committee, please submit a one page resume with cover letter to the Association Executive Assistant by mail at the following address by 4:00 pm on July 11, 2016.

B. Whitter

Executive Assistant to the Board

110, 151 - 86 Avenue S.E.

Calgary, Alberta, T2H 3A5

Electronic submissions, in MS Word format, may be emailed toBrenda Whitter, at

Questions regarding the compensation committee can be directed to